Tags

, , , , , ,

While doing research on an entirely different project, I came across and was halted by the work of the late Kenneth Paul Block.  An iconic fashion illustrator of the 20th century, his style seems to marry the graphic-heavy approach we’re all accustomed to with an almost Impressionistic treatment of brush strokes, vibrant colors, a fearless use of pattern and texture, and a gestural flow of line.  The list of collections he’s illustrated for is long and includes such designers as Yves Saint Laurent, Coco Chanel, Givenchy, Coach, and many more that would be familiar to one more versed in fashion history than I (see his Wikipedia article).

It’s a very different, and in my opinion breathtaking, approach.  I’m not sure how it would translate to 3D, but I hope it inspires you as much as it has me.

“It was never fashion I was interested in;

what I wanted was to draw beautiful women

in beautiful clothes.

~Kenneth Paul Block

He would sit there

with this long cigarette holder

and a polka-dot bow tie,

always a sports jacket,

immaculate.

He never lost his temper.

He had so much style,

so much class,

so much chic.